Hiss Golden Messenger To Release Holiday Album “O Come All Ye Faithful” on October 22nd Via Merge Records

Critically acclaimed, Grammy-nominated artist Hiss Golden Messenger will release a new kind of holiday album with O Come All Ye Faithful (Merge Records) this Friday, October 22nd. Listen to the soulful folk of the Hiss Golden Messenger holiday original “Grace” HERE. O Come All Ye Faithful  CD and LP pre-orders are shipping out now from the Merge store, as well as the limited-edition Peak Vinyl which includes a 12-inch featuring dub remixes of six tracks from the LP.

Of the new track, Hiss Golden Messenger’s M.C. Taylor had this to say: “‘Grace’ is about keeping a light for those that are struggling or lost or confused or grieving: the gone ones, our children, poets, teachers. My friends Nathaniel Rateliff, Aoife O’Donovan and Sonyia Turner help me on the choruses.”

Conceptualized and written during the chaotic fall months of 2020, O Come All Ye Faithful is a meditation on grace, loss, hope and community. Hiss Golden Messenger leader, songwriter and vocalist M.C. Taylor talks about the inspiration for O Come All Ye Faithful: “Big, brash holiday music—the type that we hear in big-box stores in the middle of December—has never resonated with me, and this past year it felt absolutely dissonant. I wanted to make a seasonal record that felt more in step with the way that I, and so many others, experience this time of year: quiet, contemplative, searching and bittersweet.” Taylor adds, “The intention was to make a seasonal record with vibe.” Taylor shares more thoughts about the inspiration for O Come All Ye Faithful in this personal NOTE.

Contributors to O Come All Ye Faithful include members of Hiss Golden Messenger’s extended family, as well as special guests that include Grammy Award-winner Aoife O’Donovan, Nathaniel Rateliff, Erin Rae and Buddy Miller.

O Come All Ye Faithful
features three new songs written by Taylor, traditional classics and new renditions of “Shine a Light” by Spiritualized, “As Long As I Can See the Light” by Creedence Clearwater Revival and “Hanukkah Dance” by Woody Guthrie, all arranged in the distinctive Hiss Golden Messenger style. See full track listing below.

O Come All Ye Faithful
comes on the heels of the widely acclaimed album Quietly Blowing It, which was released in June 2021. Quietly Blowing It garnered critical praise with four-star reviews running throughout the US and overseas, including Rolling Stone, American Songwriter, MOJO, The Guardian, The Independent, and more. Positive coverage ran in The New York Times, The Associated Press, Consequence, No Depression and much more. Hiss Golden Messenger appeared on CBS Saturday Morning and was the subject of a feature segment on NPR Weekend Edition. View Press Highlights.

Click HERE to pre-order O Come All Ye Faithful

Catch Hiss Golden Messenger on tour this winter & spring.
For a full list of dates, Click HERE. 

For press information about Hiss Golden Messenger, please contact 
Jim Flammia or Conner McKiever at All Eyes Media (615) 227-2770 


 “Hung Fire”
Written by M.C. Taylor

 “O Come All Ye Faithful”

Written by M.C. Taylor

 “By the Lights of St. Stephen”
Written by M.C. Taylor

 “Shine a Light”
Written by Jason Pierce (Spiritualized)

“Joy to the World”

 “Silent Night”

 “Hanukkah Dance”
Written by Woody Guthrie

 “As Long As I Can See the Light”
Written by John Fogerty (Creedence Clearwater Revival)